The Ferguson reflex: I want to push !

June 17, 2010

At some point in the pool I felt like I wanted to push. I told the midwife but she said it wasn’t time yet. So I kept hanging in there until the urge to push became almost overwhelming.

My body wanted to push and there was very little I could do to stop it. I told the midwife who told me that I should try not to push but not to worry if I couldn’t help pushing.

At the time this statement did not make any sense to me at all. I needed clear instructions – either I was allowed to push or I wasn’t. What was going on? The urge to push grew stronger and stronger and simply didn’t go away. I felt I was loosing control.

At that time I had never heard of the Ferguson reflex. And I tought that the urge to push would only come at the very end when you were fully dilated. I think it might have helped me to make sense of it all  if I’d known that what I was experiencing was called the Ferguson reflex and that there was very little I could do about it.

At the time I was simply scared of this urge to push. After 5 hours in the pool my strength was also dwindling away very fast.  The fun bit in the pool had clearly come to an end.

Leave a Reply

