Back in bed…

June 17, 2010

with contractions…and that’s where I would remain for the next 14 hours.

Moving around was extremely painful so all my wonderful yoga-for-labour- moves proved to be pretty useless in my situation. My yoga breathing was brilliant though – in fact I don’t know what I would have done without it.

The contractions had slowed down after I left the birth centre and came about every 8 – 10 minutes. Exhausted as I was I would fall asleep for seven minutes and then be woken up by the next contraction.

All I could do was concentrate my breath and use the pause between contractions to try and relax as much as possible. At some point after lunch my partner got worried and phoned the birth centre but I told him there was no way I was going back there unless I had a cast-iron guarantee that I would not be turned back again. They told him there would be no gurantee so I stayed put….

Towards late afternoon I had grown increasingly hopeless. I really didn’t know how I would be able to cope much longer without any pain relief. However I was convinced that my labour hadn’t progressed because the contractions still came only every 8 – 10 minutes. At night they had been every 3 minutes and I had been “only” 2 cm dilated.. so I still didn’t want to go into the birth centre just to be turned away again.

In the end my partner and my mum put the pressure on and insisted I had to go into the Birth Centre now. My partner phoned them and said we were coming in because I needed pain relief ..and they better not turn us away again.

On the way to the Birth Centre – over a million painful speed humps – my contractions had virtually come to a halt. I was scared stiff of being turned away again. ..in fact I was convinced I’d be back home soon – just as desperate as I had been 14 hours previously …

Leave a Reply

