My son

June 13, 2010

Apologies for the delay in blogging. I know that some of you have been regularly checking the blog for updates about the birth…and so far have been disappointed….but not anymore …I’m alive and blogging…..

My son was born on 22 May just before 5 am at the Whittington (yiipppehh !).

So that makes him three weeks old and one day today and as you would expect me to say: He is the cutest baby in the world. My partner and me are hopelessly in love with him.

As to the birth: I would love to say that it was a straight forward water birth but…eh….it wasn’t. The whole story will be too long to blog it in one post so I will break it down and blog it in little chapters over the next few days – for those of you who want to know the details.

For those of you who don’t need to know every detail ( I completely understand: I sometimes wish I would not know everything I know) all you need to know is this: The baby and I are well and thriving !

I will say two things with regards to this blog and the campaign to save the Whittington. At times it really felt as though fate told me: “So you think you are whittington mum? You ain’t seen anything yet !”

And indeed before the birth I hadn’t seen anything yet. All I had was a pretty box standard and relatively easy pregnancy and an excellent midwife looking after me. After the birth I can now well and truly declare myself to be whittington mum for two reasons:

1) You name the Whittington ward – I have been there: Birth Centre, Labour ward, post-natal ward, neo-natal unit and a couple of other places in the Whittington which aren’t “babies only”.

2) I can now honestly say that the Whittington indeed saved my life. More precisely the crash team from the A&E unit. So thank you very much, guys. Really very much obliged for saving my life. I truly appreciate the speed with which you “crashed in when I crashed out.”

So in a weird way I have proven my own point by my personal experience: You need a local hospital with ALL the facilities in place. A full labour ward plus A&E and other departments – if you do not have this people, like me, might end up paying with their lives.

But to my great joy the Whittington is safe, my baby is well and I am alive. So I hold it with Shakespeare on this one – All’s well that ends well.

4 Responses to “My son”

  1. Carla Welch Says:

    Wow, sounds like a traumatic experience to say the least. Won’t say I am looking forward to reading about it but I will keep my eye on your blog nonetheless. Congratulations inspite of the difficult start and I’m glad you are all happy and healthy now! xx


    • Thanks, Carla 🙂 Well it was a bit traumatic I can’t deny it. I’ll try and narrate it with my ususal sense of humour so hopefully it won’t be as traumatic for my readers :))) But if you’re currently pregnant or thinking of number 2 I’d still give it a miss if I were you…

  2. Cath Bruzzone Says:

    Sarah – congrats to you all! Glad you survived of course & hope the Whittington survies well into the future too. My eldest is 28 today (!) & your news brings it all back, the intense excitement of the first few weeks. Keep enjoying it & rest assured that the birth trauma will fade in time & it doesn’t have to be the same 2nd time around. Cath x


  3. Thanks a lot, Cath. I am sure the trauma will fade – actually that’s one reason for blogging it and getting it all off my chest. You are not the only one who told me that memories of their birth experience keep flooding back.

    I must say I am stunned what an important moment giving birth is – and remains for many women even after decades. Pretty amazing really 🙂


Leave a Reply

