The National Childbirth Trust (NCT)

March 4, 2010

It was almost the first thing people with small children said to me after I told them I was pregnant. “Join the NCT.”

So that’s what I did.  I have only been a member for two months but it’s been well worth it so far:

 We picked up the pushchair we wanted for a bargain price at a Nearly New Sale, I’ve become a busy online shopper on their website, because I trust them to sell only items that are actually of use to the majority of parents and I’ve been invited to a very friendly tea group by the lovely lady, who coordinates the NCT in Wood Green and picked up lots of useful information.  And of course the three of us who came to the tea group are having our babies ……you guessed it….at the Whittington !

So for me joining the NCT has been really worth it so far. However I have not heard a peep from them about the proposed closure of the Whittington Hospital so yesterday I put pen to paper and wrote ( well…ok… I  e-mailed..) the Chair of the NCT in Haringey:

Dear Sonia,

 I am writing to you as a new NCT member, who is deeply concerned about the proposed closure of the A&E and maternity services at Whittington Hospital.

 I have not received any correspondence from the NCT regarding this issue, which I find surprising, given that the closure of these services would affect many NCT members in Haringey.

 I would like to ask you if it would be possible to circulate information about the proposed closure to our members to make sure that they are informed about this issue.

 Lynne Featherstone, MP for Hornsey and Wood Green has organised a public meeting with Rachel Tyndall, Chair of the North Central London (NCL) review panel, the body that has put forward the proposals to close the Whittington A&E, and Richard Sumray, who is chair of Haringey Primary Care Trust.

The meeting will take place tomorrow at 8 pm at the Greig City Academy in Hornsey. Haringey NCT members might be interested in attending the meeting to ask questions directly to those in charge and find out more about the proposed closures.

 More details about the meeting can be found on my blog:

https://whittingtonmum.wordpress.com/2010/03/01/public-meeting- with-nhs-bosses-this-thursday/

 Lastly, I would like to request that the NCT in Haringey considers affiliating to the “Defend the Whittington Hospital Coalition” (http://dwhc.org.uk/) as many other local organisations and residents associations in Haringey have done already.

 I look forward to hearing from you soon.

 Kind regards,

Sara

Let’s see what they say.

Zozi from the Defend the Whittington Hospital Coalition has left a comment here yesterday mentioning another local parenting group called Haringey Families. I must admit that I have never heard of them before but they look quite interesting with activities similar to the NCT. I’ll check them out more and report back on this blog.

One Response to “The National Childbirth Trust (NCT)”


  1. The lovely Wood Green coordinator of the NCT has just circulated the information about the proposed closure to NCT members in our area.

    Thanks so much and see you at the next tea group 🙂


Leave a Reply

